top of page

What's With Mary Dude?

Jesus,

I love you very much. Today being the first day of 2019 it is easy to be tempted to look on the year past in the year coming forward. Please give me the grace to focus on today, and not just today but every other day. Help me to live in the moment, do your will, and love your way.

In Jesus Christ name I pray, amen.

As I reflect on the various scriptures and quotes that I get via email in the morning part of my mind reflects on the journey I have taken with Mary, the mother of Jesus. It wasn't that long ago that the thought of praying to Mary would seem a bit wrong. I mean after all as a Christian I'm supposed to worship God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit and be a good member of the church. In the past praying to someone other than God seemed to like worshiping something else. It took a while to wrap my head around the idea. But then it was explained to me like this, there are times when I feel trouble and I ask others to pray for me, praying to Mary and asking for her intercession is just the same.

For me the plots second a bit though, what was explained to me that Mary could do more than just pray for me. In fact it was even suggested that I look to her as mother, for after all she was the mother Jesus. I thought it would be rather harsh to say a quick yes or a quick no. I took some time with this idea. And I'll be honest I really got nowhere, mostly because I didn't pray about it. But then something happened, something horrible happened, I came face-to-face with the problem in my life which it seemed regular actions by myself and my typical prayers went unanswered. At a moments of complete desperation I turned to Mary in prayer. I started praying rosaries (if you are unfamiliar I would recommend looking into the rosary it's not just a Catholic thing). While praying the rosary I would meditate on various moments in Christ life. Some of those moments, like the announcement and the visitation, made me ponder Mary's walking life with Christ. Not only did my appreciation for Mary's journey deepen, but something amazing happened. I won't say that I conquered my temptations, I still fight with him this day, but somehow praying those rosaries, contemplating Christ life, and praying with Mary gave me peace and success over my temptations.

I suppose I could spend quite a bit of time on trying to figure out exactly how all this works,But the fact of the matter is some things, in regards to faith theology in Christ, are meant to be left the mystery, at least that's how it seems to me. So I focus on the day, or at least I try to. Trust me I say this laughing out loud myself. I try to focus on the day in the moment that I am in. I'll be honest I'm not always successful. I'm not a good example of a Christian. I am a sinner trying to become a better man. But in seeking God's way, and trying to walk along the path of righteousness and his will I find a peace and love I'm paralleled.

I even look to the other saints for help, such as St. Joseph Mary Tomasi. Not only do I find hope and help in Saints that seem to have dealt with similar issues of my own, but I see that no matter what walk of life I come from I can find my way home to God.

Saint Joseph Mary Tomasi,

Please pray for the church this day, please pray for all those Christians who are lost. Help them define their home in there Church services. It's too easy to look over the amazing things that happen during in the average church service. You saw the beauty in it, pray for us that we may see it as well.

In Jesus Christ name I pray,

Amen.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page