top of page

In Those Times of Worry

Jesus,
It's a crazy world we got here, sometimes it's hard for me to believe that you want
anything to do with it. Please be with me this day and help me to navigate this crazy world. Be with all of your followers and fill us with your grace and will so that we may find our way home to you in heaven for eternity. Let us not to be troubled by things that seem so important in the here and now. Help us to persevere in loving this day each and every person that we meet.
In Jesus Christ name I pray, amen.
Jer 33:14-16

The days are coming, says the LORD, when I will fulfill the promise I made to the house of Israel and Judah. In those days, in that time, I will raise up for David a just shoot ; he shall do what is right and just in the land. In those days Judah shall be safe and Jerusalem shall dwell secure; this is what they shall call her: “The LORD our justice.”

This Scripture from Jeremiah is very inspiring. Imagine if you were a Jew who was dispelled from Israel in taking into a foreign land against your will. These lines would be very comforting to know that one day you would have the opportunity to return home and be whole once again. For someone living in the culture of today it is reassuring as well. It is reassuring because it reminds me of the power of this season, the season of Advent. I am reminded that Christ has come, he has died for my sins and that salvation is waiting if I choose to accept it.

1 Thes 3:12—4:2

Brothers and sisters: May the Lord make you increase and abound in love for one another and for all, just as we have for you, so as to strengthen your hearts, to be blameless in holiness before our God and Father at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all his holy ones. Amen. Finally, brothers and sisters, we earnestly ask and exhort you in the Lord Jesus that, as you received from us how you should conduct yourselves to please God and as you are conducting yourselves you do so even more. For you know what instructions we gave you through the Lord Jesus.

In reading this Scripture from first Thessalonians I can easily identify with the author. These lines so aptly identify with someone intercultural today. As a Christian it is heartwarming to read and to remember that I should always increase and abound in love. It is so easy to get distracted, get frustrated and stop loving. Likewise it is very helpful to be reminded that this life is merely a blink of an eye and temporary. It is healthy to be reminded that I need to be vigil at all times into be ready to meet my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ at any moment of any day. So many things can hit a person on an average day. It seems as if Satan takes great thrills in trying to distract us. And it is so sad to see how often he is successful. As a Christian I work hard to not only feel guys love but to share it. And I am ever so thankful that I have the ability to go to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and ask for forgiveness whenever I fall short and sin.

Lk 21:25-28, 34-36

Jesus said to his disciples: “There will be signs in the sun, the moon, and the stars, and on earth nations will be in dismay, perplexed by the roaring of the sea and the waves. People will die of fright in anticipation of what is coming upon the world, for the powers of the heavens will be shaken. And then they will see the Son of Man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. But when these signs begin to happen, stand erect and raise your heads because your redemption is at hand. “Beware that your hearts do not become drowsy from carousing and drunkenness and the anxieties of daily life, and that day catch you by surprise like a trap. For that day will assault everyone who lives on the face of the earth. Be vigilant at all times and pray that you have the strength to escape the tribulations that are imminent and to stand before the Son of Man.”

This reading from Luke can be very scary. There are some who believe that Christians will not have to go to a great tribulation upon Christ return. There has been much debate over this idea. To be honest I am not exactly sure if as a Christian I will have to go through the great tribulation before I am taking to heaven. But reflecting on how things seem to work in the world it seems to me that chaos will not come to fruition overnight. That even if I am not here for the "end times" I will still have to into endure great tribulation in the world. To be honest considering the current political landscape in America sometimes I jokingly wonder if we are in the in times. Nonetheless I know that I must be vigilant as Luke states here. I must not only be focused in my love for Christ but also in my actions and how I show that love. Through all I know that I should not fear, for God loves me and as long as I stay with him he will take care of me.

And that's all I have to say about that.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page